Book Review – Cinder

220px-Cinder_(Official_Book_Cover)_by_Marissa_MeyerBy Marissa Meyer

When I first picked up Cinder I was very cautious thinking it was going to be another retelling. I was so taken aback about how much I enjoyed it and how enthralled I was in the story by the end of it. I was worried given that Meyer aimed to incorporate sci-fi with a classic fairytale but she accomplished this in a way that was fun and fresh to read.

To see ‘Cinder’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – The Black God’s Drums

38118138By P. Djeli Clark

Set in an alternate history 1884 New Orleans, Creeper is a street urchin who witnesses a clandestine meeting between some shady characters and decides she can use the information she witnessed to bribe her way on to an airship’s crew. However she ends up working to prevent an apocalypse with the help of some African deities. There is goddesses, mystical artefacts, airships, Haitian scientists, and a pair of bad-ass nuns. Although there is only a touch over 100 pages, the author manages to pack in a heap of world building that makes me really hope we see more soon!

May Highlights

Hello! Each month we’ll be posting the items we’re excited to see coming to the libraries. These items are not released yet but you can place holds to make sure a copy comes your way!

Adult Fiction

Mystery & Thriller

Devil’s Lair by Sarah Barrie
For readers of The Dark Lake & The Dry comes this taut psychological suspense set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from bestselling author of Bloodtree River, Sarah Barrie

The Kremlin Strike by Dale Brown
In this exciting, visionary, and all-too-plausible next chapter in the legendary Dale Brown’s New York Times bestselling techno-warfare series, Brad McLanahan and the Iron Wolf Squadron must fight the Russians on a dangerous, untested battlefield: outer space.

Those People by Louise Candlish
From the author of the international bestseller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”

Continue reading “May Highlights”

Book Review – Leah on the Offbeat

51MxvSVFmzL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgHow do you write a book review on absolute perfection? I finished this book and then I wanted to read it again because of all this cuteness overload. This book made me laugh and cry with all my heart and made me so happy by the end of it. Albertalli writes with this beautiful lightness that is almost impossible not to love.

To see ‘Leah on the Offbeat’ on  our online catalogue, click here.