Book Review – Lovesome

indexBy Sally Seltmann

Sally Seltmann has made some great music but her debut novel ‘Lovesome’ is cynical & unimaginative. Art student Joni & rock-star friend Annabelle are sooo obviously both BOTH Seltmann herself it’s embarrasing. Ergo, their carefree adventures of 1995 in affluent inner Sydney, at quirky French bistros, photoshoots & vintage markets, scan as spacey conceit. There are about 3 pages of tension total, involving crushes who are also visual artists & musicians. Jonis’ (read: Seltmann’s) goofy, hopeless romanticism is endearing & sweet, but her pretentious undertones are distracting & ultimately irritating. Recommended for: Teen fic lovers only, especially those already dreaming about imminent artskool lyfe…

To see ‘Lovesome’ on our online catalogue, click here

May Highlights

Hello! Each month we’ll be posting the items we’re excited to see coming to the libraries. These items are not released yet but you can place holds to make sure a copy comes your way!

Adult Fiction

Mystery & Thriller

Devil’s Lair by Sarah Barrie
For readers of The Dark Lake & The Dry comes this taut psychological suspense set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from bestselling author of Bloodtree River, Sarah Barrie

The Kremlin Strike by Dale Brown
In this exciting, visionary, and all-too-plausible next chapter in the legendary Dale Brown’s New York Times bestselling techno-warfare series, Brad McLanahan and the Iron Wolf Squadron must fight the Russians on a dangerous, untested battlefield: outer space.

Those People by Louise Candlish
From the author of the international bestseller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”

Continue reading “May Highlights”