Book Review – Steelheart

By Brandon Sanderson (Book 1 of the Reckoners)

The Calamity came 10 years ago and the Epics came with it. They were supposed to save mankind, but now they control it. No one fights the epics. No one, except the Reckoners. David, an ordinary kid who saw his father murdered by Steelheart during his coup tracks down the legendary underground resistance and joins the fight against the Epics. A great twist on superheroes, perfect for fans of The Boys and Vicious (V.E. Schwab).

To see ‘Steelheart’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – The Black God’s Drums

38118138By P. Djeli Clark

Set in an alternate history 1884 New Orleans, Creeper is a street urchin who witnesses a clandestine meeting between some shady characters and decides she can use the information she witnessed to bribe her way on to an airship’s crew. However she ends up working to prevent an apocalypse with the help of some African deities. There is goddesses, mystical artefacts, airships, Haitian scientists, and a pair of bad-ass nuns. Although there is only a touch over 100 pages, the author manages to pack in a heap of world building that makes me really hope we see more soon!

To see this book on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Snapshot

51BrgW4DeuL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_Brandon Sanderson writes great stories and writes them fast. This one is short novella set in a technologically advanced alternate reality where detectives can create a ‘snapshot’ of the world in order to relive a period of time and solve crimes. Davis and Chaz are interesting characters, and you might guess where the story is going, how it gets there will keep you guessing until the end! 4/5 stars

To see ‘Snapshot’ on our online catalogue, click here.