Book Review – Rocky Road

imagesThe incredible true story of the fractured family behind the Darrell Lea Chocolate Empire by Robert Wainwright

Even allowing for the passage of time this was a very weird and definitely fractured family. It was also the generation that oversaw the demise of the Darrell Lea chocolate and lolly empire. Succinctly written it was a very quick read. It is certainly from a different time that had very different attitudes to adopted children.

To see ‘Rocky Road’ on our online catalogue, click here.

May Highlights

Hello! Each month we’ll be posting the items we’re excited to see coming to the libraries. These items are not released yet but you can place holds to make sure a copy comes your way!

Adult Fiction

Mystery & Thriller

Devil’s Lair by Sarah Barrie
For readers of The Dark Lake & The Dry comes this taut psychological suspense set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from bestselling author of Bloodtree River, Sarah Barrie

The Kremlin Strike by Dale Brown
In this exciting, visionary, and all-too-plausible next chapter in the legendary Dale Brown’s New York Times bestselling techno-warfare series, Brad McLanahan and the Iron Wolf Squadron must fight the Russians on a dangerous, untested battlefield: outer space.

Those People by Louise Candlish
From the author of the international bestseller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”

Continue reading “May Highlights”

Book Review – The Joy of Less

41GAGRV4huL._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_Having been a big fan of Marie Kondo’s ‘The life-changing magic of tidying’ I was intrigued by Jay’s minimalist approach to declutter and simplify. Kondo’s approach is to judge if the item sparks joy in you; Jay’s approach challenges readers to further eliminate the physical stuff filling up the space, to open up space in mind. Very helpful to keep me motivated to pursue minimalist lifestyle.

To see ‘The Joy of Less’ on our online catalogue, click here.