May Highlights

Hello! Each month we’ll be posting the items we’re excited to see coming to the libraries. These items are not released yet but you can place holds to make sure a copy comes your way!

Adult Fiction

Mystery & Thriller

Devil’s Lair by Sarah Barrie
For readers of The Dark Lake & The Dry comes this taut psychological suspense set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from bestselling author of Bloodtree River, Sarah Barrie

The Kremlin Strike by Dale Brown
In this exciting, visionary, and all-too-plausible next chapter in the legendary Dale Brown’s New York Times bestselling techno-warfare series, Brad McLanahan and the Iron Wolf Squadron must fight the Russians on a dangerous, untested battlefield: outer space.

Those People by Louise Candlish
From the author of the international bestseller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”

Continue reading “May Highlights”

Series Review – Assassin/Ship/Fool – Robin Hobb

Robin_Hobb_by_Gage_SkidmoreStarting with: Assassin’s Apprentice – In this beautifully written series of 9 books you’ll find great world building that doesn’t get in the way of characters and plot. Make sure you read this when you’re in a good mood because when bad things happen, they always happen to Fitz (the protagonist).

To see Robin’s books on our online catalogue, click here.

Author Review – Ragnar Jonasson

9780718187255Bleak, cold and brooding Iceland is the setting for all of Ragnar Jonasson’s mystery and thriller novels. Currently writing two different series, his stories have quickly become global bestsellers with vivid descriptions of the dark events that can take place in the desolate North Atlantic. Gritty crimes with realistic characters make each of his novels a gripping read. Jonasson is yet another great Nordic noir author alongside the likes of Stieg Larsson, Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Anne Holt.

To see Ragnar’s books on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Bolivar

91ekuxpn6elThis is a book about a dinosaur named Bolivar who lives in New York. Nobody ever notices him because they are far too busy to notice him…until a little girl living next door named Sybil notices. Bolivar is a good book because there are lots of funny twists and you can never really be sure what to expect! I recommend this book to all children! I think the message of this book is that we should probably take notice of things more than we do because were all so busy with our phones and devices that we should just look at the simple but beautiful things around us in life. – Sebastian, 10 years old.

To see ‘Bolivar’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Author Review – Debbie Macomber

11349I usually borrow Debbie Macomber books as Audiobooks. It’s like going for a drive with a gossipy friend who knows heaps of peoples and hearing stories of what they have been up to. Her books are generally set in small communities in North America and commonly have romantic elements. I find them undemanding and relatively enjoyable. I suggest you start with the “Cedar Cove” series.

To see Debbie’s books on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Snapshot

51BrgW4DeuL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_Brandon Sanderson writes great stories and writes them fast. This one is short novella set in a technologically advanced alternate reality where detectives can create a ‘snapshot’ of the world in order to relive a period of time and solve crimes. Davis and Chaz are interesting characters, and you might guess where the story is going, how it gets there will keep you guessing until the end! 4/5 stars

To see ‘Snapshot’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Leah on the Offbeat

51MxvSVFmzL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgHow do you write a book review on absolute perfection? I finished this book and then I wanted to read it again because of all this cuteness overload. This book made me laugh and cry with all my heart and made me so happy by the end of it. Albertalli writes with this beautiful lightness that is almost impossible not to love.

To see ‘Leah on the Offbeat’ on  our online catalogue, click here.