Book Review – Steelheart

By Brandon Sanderson (Book 1 of the Reckoners)

The Calamity came 10 years ago and the Epics came with it. They were supposed to save mankind, but now they control it. No one fights the epics. No one, except the Reckoners. David, an ordinary kid who saw his father murdered by Steelheart during his coup tracks down the legendary underground resistance and joins the fight against the Epics. A great twist on superheroes, perfect for fans of The Boys and Vicious (V.E. Schwab).

To see ‘Steelheart’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Author Review – Chris Hammer

Author of Scrublands and Silver

Chris Hammer, a former journalist, has written 2 twisty and involved mysteries in very Australian settings. One in the drought ravaged bush (Scrublands) and one on the tropical coast (Silver). I didn’t always like or agree with the main character, also a journalist, but the plots kept me reading. Excellent and I recommend them to all mystery fans.

To see Chris’ books on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Adults

By Emma Jane Unsworth

If you’re after something witty to make you laugh I recommend you Adults by Emma Jane Unsworth. In this book the author depicts a realistic problematic and humorous picture of our contemporary disease of social media addiction and its pressure, its pitfalls and repercussions through the life of 35 year old Jenny. Her other novel Animal which was published in 2014 and filmed in 2019 is a great fun reading as well.

To see ‘Adults’ on our online catalogue, click here.