Book Review – Steelheart

By Brandon Sanderson (Book 1 of the Reckoners)

The Calamity came 10 years ago and the Epics came with it. They were supposed to save mankind, but now they control it. No one fights the epics. No one, except the Reckoners. David, an ordinary kid who saw his father murdered by Steelheart during his coup tracks down the legendary underground resistance and joins the fight against the Epics. A great twist on superheroes, perfect for fans of The Boys and Vicious (V.E. Schwab).

To see ‘Steelheart’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Cinder

220px-Cinder_(Official_Book_Cover)_by_Marissa_MeyerBy Marissa Meyer

When I first picked up Cinder I was very cautious thinking it was going to be another retelling. I was so taken aback about how much I enjoyed it and how enthralled I was in the story by the end of it. I was worried given that Meyer aimed to incorporate sci-fi with a classic fairytale but she accomplished this in a way that was fun and fresh to read.

To see ‘Cinder’ on our online catalogue, click here.