Author Review – Nicholas Sparks

2018-nicholas-sparksNicholas Charles Sparks is an American romance novelist and screenwriter. He has published more than twenty novels and two non-fiction books. He is a master of poignant love stories. In his novels there’s no great love without some loss and his characters frequently are faced with a difficult challenge before proving they’re worthy of love. In his novels, you can feel, touch and experience the beauty of true love. Eleven of his romantic novels has been adapted to films.

To see Nicholas’s books on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Redemption Point

9780143793366By Candice Fox

If you haven’t read the first in this series (Crimson Lake) do yourself a favour and listen to the audio book narrated by Euan Morton. That got me hooked , and now I can’t get enough of Ted Conkaffey, who isn’t the bad guy everyone thinks he is & the just plain crazy Amanda Pharrel.

To see the ‘Crimson Lake’ series books on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – The Black God’s Drums

38118138By P. Djeli Clark

Set in an alternate history 1884 New Orleans, Creeper is a street urchin who witnesses a clandestine meeting between some shady characters and decides she can use the information she witnessed to bribe her way on to an airship’s crew. However she ends up working to prevent an apocalypse with the help of some African deities. There is goddesses, mystical artefacts, airships, Haitian scientists, and a pair of bad-ass nuns. Although there is only a touch over 100 pages, the author manages to pack in a heap of world building that makes me really hope we see more soon!

May Highlights

Hello! Each month we’ll be posting the items we’re excited to see coming to the libraries. These items are not released yet but you can place holds to make sure a copy comes your way!

Adult Fiction

Mystery & Thriller

Devil’s Lair by Sarah Barrie
For readers of The Dark Lake & The Dry comes this taut psychological suspense set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from bestselling author of Bloodtree River, Sarah Barrie

The Kremlin Strike by Dale Brown
In this exciting, visionary, and all-too-plausible next chapter in the legendary Dale Brown’s New York Times bestselling techno-warfare series, Brad McLanahan and the Iron Wolf Squadron must fight the Russians on a dangerous, untested battlefield: outer space.

Those People by Louise Candlish
From the author of the international bestseller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”

Continue reading “May Highlights”