Book Review – They Called us Enemy

images (2)By George Takei

A thought provoking and distressing autobiographical account of George Takei’s (Sulu in Star Trek, author of several books, human rights and LGBTQ rights activist) time spent growing up internment camps along with 120,000 other Japanese Americans during World War II. This graphic novel should be a must read for everyone to understand how legalized racism tore families apart, caused their homes to be taken from them, their possessions stripped, and lives uprooted just for having Japanese heritage after the bombing of Pearl Harbour. A timely reminder of how fast people can become the enemy just because they look different.

To see ‘They Called us Enemy’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Unwritten

index (13)By Tara Gilboy

Gracie is a normal schoolgirl whose life is turned upside down when she sneaks out of the house to hear a talk at a book shop from an author who it turns out wrote Gracie’s life story… Literally. Gracie discovers that she, her family, and her friends are characters come to life out of a story book that have left the pages in order to escape the evil Queen. Gracie’s story within the story becomes even more complicated when they are drawn back within the pages of the book, and have to discover a dark truth in order to survive!

To see ‘Unwritten’ on our online catalogue, click here

Book Review – The Calculating Stars

index (8)Lady Astronaut Book 1 By Mary Robinette Kowal

Set in an alternate post WWII reality after a meteor wipes out much of the US East Coast and threatens to make Earth uninhabitable, leading to an acceleration of the Space Program as mankind’s last hope. Elma York is a genius mathematician and former WWII WASP pilot who has to fight for the rights of women and coloured people to join the space program and contribute to mankind’s survival. The Calculating Stars tells the story of a strong smart woman and her struggle to overcome anxiety, discrimination, and the unwillingness of people to work.

To see ‘The Calculating Stars’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – The Black God’s Drums

38118138By P. Djeli Clark

Set in an alternate history 1884 New Orleans, Creeper is a street urchin who witnesses a clandestine meeting between some shady characters and decides she can use the information she witnessed to bribe her way on to an airship’s crew. However she ends up working to prevent an apocalypse with the help of some African deities. There is goddesses, mystical artefacts, airships, Haitian scientists, and a pair of bad-ass nuns. Although there is only a touch over 100 pages, the author manages to pack in a heap of world building that makes me really hope we see more soon!

To see this book on our online catalogue, click here.

May Highlights

Hello! Each month we’ll be posting the items we’re excited to see coming to the libraries. These items are not released yet but you can place holds to make sure a copy comes your way!

Adult Fiction

Mystery & Thriller

Devil’s Lair by Sarah Barrie
For readers of The Dark Lake & The Dry comes this taut psychological suspense set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from bestselling author of Bloodtree River, Sarah Barrie

The Kremlin Strike by Dale Brown
In this exciting, visionary, and all-too-plausible next chapter in the legendary Dale Brown’s New York Times bestselling techno-warfare series, Brad McLanahan and the Iron Wolf Squadron must fight the Russians on a dangerous, untested battlefield: outer space.

Those People by Louise Candlish
From the author of the international bestseller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”

Continue reading “May Highlights”

Book Review – Foundryside

index.jpg

Sancia is a master thief who takes a job from her handler and ends up stealing an ancient magical artefact from one of the powerful merchant houses, which draws her into a life and death fight to save the world. Foundryside is the beginning of what will be an epic trilogy with an awesome heroine, a unique magic system, and some truly excellent characters. Fans of Brandon Sanderson will love Foundryside!

To see ‘Foundryside’ on our online catalogue, Click Here

 

Book Review – Snapshot

51BrgW4DeuL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_Brandon Sanderson writes great stories and writes them fast. This one is short novella set in a technologically advanced alternate reality where detectives can create a ‘snapshot’ of the world in order to relive a period of time and solve crimes. Davis and Chaz are interesting characters, and you might guess where the story is going, how it gets there will keep you guessing until the end! 4/5 stars

To see ‘Snapshot’ on our online catalogue, click here.