Book Review – The Adventure Zone: Murder on the Rockport Limited!

By Griffin, Travis and Clint McElroy

The McElroy Brothers are some of the funniest people on the planet. They make a podcast called The Adventure Zone where they play Dungeons and Dragons with their Dad, and it’s so good that they are making a series of graphic novels retelling the story. Follow Taako the wizard/failed TV chef, Magnus Burnsides the fighter, and Merle the incompetent cleric as they solve a railroad murder mystery and recover one of the Grand Relics that are threatening to destroy the world.

To see ‘The Adventure Zone’ graphic novels on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Steelheart

By Brandon Sanderson (Book 1 of the Reckoners)

The Calamity came 10 years ago and the Epics came with it. They were supposed to save mankind, but now they control it. No one fights the epics. No one, except the Reckoners. David, an ordinary kid who saw his father murdered by Steelheart during his coup tracks down the legendary underground resistance and joins the fight against the Epics. A great twist on superheroes, perfect for fans of The Boys and Vicious (V.E. Schwab).

To see ‘Steelheart’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – I Go Quiet

By David Ouimet

“When I read there is a world beneath my branches” A gorgeous little book about a young girl whose anxiety and introversion make her feel uncomfortable and struggle to communicate. The girl finds comfort and peace through reading and help to know that she will find her voice and be heard. An important message for introverts to hear: it is OK to be quiet.

To see ‘I Go Quiet’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – They Called us Enemy

images (2)By George Takei

A thought provoking and distressing autobiographical account of George Takei’s (Sulu in Star Trek, author of several books, human rights and LGBTQ rights activist) time spent growing up internment camps along with 120,000 other Japanese Americans during World War II. This graphic novel should be a must read for everyone to understand how legalized racism tore families apart, caused their homes to be taken from them, their possessions stripped, and lives uprooted just for having Japanese heritage after the bombing of Pearl Harbour. A timely reminder of how fast people can become the enemy just because they look different.

To see ‘They Called us Enemy’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Unwritten

index (13)By Tara Gilboy

Gracie is a normal schoolgirl whose life is turned upside down when she sneaks out of the house to hear a talk at a book shop from an author who it turns out wrote Gracie’s life story… Literally. Gracie discovers that she, her family, and her friends are characters come to life out of a story book that have left the pages in order to escape the evil Queen. Gracie’s story within the story becomes even more complicated when they are drawn back within the pages of the book, and have to discover a dark truth in order to survive!

To see ‘Unwritten’ on our online catalogue, click here

Book Review – The Calculating Stars

index (8)Lady Astronaut Book 1 By Mary Robinette Kowal

Set in an alternate post WWII reality after a meteor wipes out much of the US East Coast and threatens to make Earth uninhabitable, leading to an acceleration of the Space Program as mankind’s last hope. Elma York is a genius mathematician and former WWII WASP pilot who has to fight for the rights of women and coloured people to join the space program and contribute to mankind’s survival. The Calculating Stars tells the story of a strong smart woman and her struggle to overcome anxiety, discrimination, and the unwillingness of people to work.

To see ‘The Calculating Stars’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – The Black God’s Drums

38118138By P. Djeli Clark

Set in an alternate history 1884 New Orleans, Creeper is a street urchin who witnesses a clandestine meeting between some shady characters and decides she can use the information she witnessed to bribe her way on to an airship’s crew. However she ends up working to prevent an apocalypse with the help of some African deities. There is goddesses, mystical artefacts, airships, Haitian scientists, and a pair of bad-ass nuns. Although there is only a touch over 100 pages, the author manages to pack in a heap of world building that makes me really hope we see more soon!

To see this book on our online catalogue, click here.