Book Review – Taking Tom Murray Home

By Tim Slee

A well deserving winner of the 2018 Banjo Prize this book tells the story of a funeral procession. Despite the seemingly sad subject, this book is written with a warm humour. Narrated by the deceased’s son, who has a twin sister, there is rebellion, anger and frustration expressed regarding some of the current issues with rural living. As soon as I finished reading this, I put it on hold for most of my family members. I loved it.

To see ‘Taking Tom Murray Home’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Body Positive Power

By Megan Jayne Crabb

Unlearn & forget everything that advertising & the media have ever taught you about how you’re meant to look, think & feel. While reading this, prepare to feel angry at the injustice of it all – then feel like a huge weight has been lifted off your shoulders. If you want to be happy in your own skin, start here!

To see ‘Body Positive Power’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Steelheart

By Brandon Sanderson (Book 1 of the Reckoners)

The Calamity came 10 years ago and the Epics came with it. They were supposed to save mankind, but now they control it. No one fights the epics. No one, except the Reckoners. David, an ordinary kid who saw his father murdered by Steelheart during his coup tracks down the legendary underground resistance and joins the fight against the Epics. A great twist on superheroes, perfect for fans of The Boys and Vicious (V.E. Schwab).

To see ‘Steelheart’ on our online catalogue, click here.

Book Review – Adults

By Emma Jane Unsworth

If you’re after something witty to make you laugh I recommend you Adults by Emma Jane Unsworth. In this book the author depicts a realistic problematic and humorous picture of our contemporary disease of social media addiction and its pressure, its pitfalls and repercussions through the life of 35 year old Jenny. Her other novel Animal which was published in 2014 and filmed in 2019 is a great fun reading as well.

To see ‘Adults’ on our online catalogue, click here.