May Highlights

Hello! Each month we’ll be posting the items we’re excited to see coming to the libraries. These items are not released yet but you can place holds to make sure a copy comes your way!

Adult Fiction

Mystery & Thriller

Devil’s Lair by Sarah Barrie
For readers of The Dark Lake & The Dry comes this taut psychological suspense set in a dramatic Tasmanian landscape from bestselling author of Bloodtree River, Sarah Barrie

The Kremlin Strike by Dale Brown
In this exciting, visionary, and all-too-plausible next chapter in the legendary Dale Brown’s New York Times bestselling techno-warfare series, Brad McLanahan and the Iron Wolf Squadron must fight the Russians on a dangerous, untested battlefield: outer space.

Those People by Louise Candlish
From the author of the international bestseller Our House, a new novel of twisty domestic suspense asks, “Could you hate your neighbor enough to plot to kill him?”

The Chain by Adrian McKinty
VICTIM. SURVIVOR. ABDUCTOR. CRIMINAL. YOU WILL BECOME EACH ONE.

Knife by Jo Nesbo
Brilliant, audaciously rogue police officer, Harry Hole from The Snowman and The Thirst, is back and in the throes of a new, unanticipated rage–once again hunting the murderer who has haunted his entire career.

Good Girl, Bad Girl by Michael Robotham
From the bestselling author of The Secrets She Keeps, a fiendishly clever suspense novel about a dangerous young woman with a special ability to know when someone is lying—and the criminal psychologist who must outwit her to survive. 

The New Girl by Daniel Silva
From bestselling author Daniel Silva comes a stunning new thriller of vengeance, deception, and betrayal.

General Fiction

The Scent Keeper by Erica Bauermeister
An evocative & moving coming-of-age novel about childhood stories, families lost & found, and how a fragrance conjures memories capable of shaping the course of our lives

This is Only the Beginning by Cathy Kelly
A warm and wise story from international bestseller Cathy Kelly about how it’s never too late to find your place in the world

After the End by Clare Mackintosh
A story about impossible choices. A story about the strength and fragility of love.

You’ll Never See Me Again by Lesley Pearse
Heart-pounding, exhilarating and ever suspenseful, Lesley Pearse’s You’ll Never See Me Again is a tale of one woman’s fight to find her destiny.

Historical Romance

The Blue Rose by Kate Forsyth
Moving between Imperial China and France during the ‘Terror’ of the French Revolution and inspired by the true story of the quest for a blood-red rose.

Historical

The Guardian of Lies by Kate Furnivall
1953, the South of France. The fragile peace between the West and Soviet Russia hangs on a knife edge. And one family has been torn apart by secrets and conflicting allegiances.

Australian

The Boy with Blue Trousers by Carol Jones
On the goldfields of 19th-century Australia, two very different girls are trying to escape their past. English governess Violet Hartley has fled from England after a scandalous liaison. Now she is angling for a rich husband and a new life. Little Cat is fleeing from her home in Southern China for a new life in Australia.

The Book of Science & Antiquities by Thomas Keneally
In a novel of breathtaking reach and inspired imagination, one of Australia’s greatest writers tells the stories of two men who have much in common. What separates them is 42,000 years.

Science Fiction

Thin Air by Richard Morgan
Richard Morgan has always been one of our most successful SF authors with his fast-moving and brutal storylines, blistering plots and a powerful social conscience behind his work. And now he’s back, with his first SF novel for eight years . . . and it promises to be a publication to remember.

Fantasy

The Grand Dark by Richard Kadrey
From the bestselling author of the Sandman Slim series, a lush, dark, stand-alone fantasy built off the insurgent tradition of China Mieville and M. John Harrison—a subversive tale that immerses us in a world where the extremes of bleakness and beauty exist together in dangerous harmony in a city on the edge of civility and chaos.

Something Different

While You Were Reading by Ali Berg
Funny, poignant and insightful this book reveals the value of true friendship, that there’s no such thing as perfection & most importantly , the power of not living in fiction but still reading it – often.

Something to Live For/How Not to Die Alone by Richard Roper
Andrew works with death for a living. Searching for people’s next of kin and attending the funerals if they don’t have anyone, he’s desperate to avoid the same fate for himself. Which is fine, because he has the perfect wife and 2.4 children waiting at home for him after a long day. At least, that’s what he’s told people.

Adult Non-Fiction

The Illustrated Histories of Everyday Expressions: Discover the True Stories Behind the English Language’s 64 Most Popular Idioms Illustrated Histories by James McGuire
With 100+ full-page illustrations, this book introduces readers to the fascinating, humorous, and often unbelievable origin stories behind the English language’s most common sayings!

Lonely Planet Polish Phrasebook & Dictionary
This book is not only for language learning but for making your travel experiences amazing.

Teen Fiction

The Candle and the Flame by Nafiza Azad
Nafiza Azad weaves an immersive tale of magic and the importance of names; fiercely independent women; and, perhaps most importantly, the work for harmony within a city of a thousand cultures and cadences.

Music

When We Al Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go? by Billie Eilish
This is the debut studio album by American singer-songwriter Billie Eilish. It was released on March 29, 2019, by Darkroom and Interscope Records. The album is a mixture of pop, electropop and trap. 

Games

ControlPlaystation 4/Xbox One game
Control is an upcoming action-adventure video game developed by Remedy Entertainment and published by 505 Games. The game revolves around the Federal Bureau of Control (FBC), a secret U.S. government agency tasked with containing and studying supernatural phenomena.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s